Time Period of the Planets

Time Period of the Planets

A period of 120 years is taken as the longevity of the person, and the planets in the order of the Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu and Venus. Thus the total years of planets that rule a person are
1) Sun – 6 years
2) Rahu – 18 years
3) Mercury – 17 years
4) Moon – 10 years
5) Jupiter – 16 years
6) Ketu – 7 years
7) Kuja ( Mars ) – 7 years
8) Saturn – 19 years
9) Venus – 20 years
So the total of 120 years is ascertained by the “asterism” of birth. If for example, Mercury governs at the time of birth, then follow Ketu, Venus, Sun, Moon, etc in order. The Hinduism have not adopted Uranus and Neptune in their system, as these planets were not known to them. The Hindus have not adopted Uranus and Neptune in their system as they did not know these planets and they gave prominence to Rahu and Kethu, which are the North Node and the South Node respectively.

Anther Dasa or Sub-Periods: Each planet’s Dasa or period is subdivided into minor portions, called as “ Anthar – Dasas”. In each Dasa, the entire nine planets rule as Sub-Lords but in each Dasa, its sub-period functions first; then, the next planet, as in the Dasa operates. Example – If Moon’s Dasa operates from the 20th year of a man’s life, the first 10 months are ruled by Moon as the Sub-period in the Major period of Moon.

Periods of Sub-Lords: If we want to know the duration of the sub-periods of the Sun in the Dasa of the Sun; it is known that the Dasa of the Sun lasts for 6 years. Multiply this by 6 we get 36. Multiplication is always done by the last integer by 3 and call it days; we get 18 days. The first integer which is 3 in 36 is taken always as such, calling it months. Therefore, 3 months and 18 days are taken as the duration of the Sub-Period of Sun in the Dasa of Sun. In another example, we find out the duration of the sub-period of Mercury in the Dasa of Saturn. Saturn rules for 19 years and Mercury for 17 years. Now, if we multiply these two numbers 19 and 17, we get 323. The last integer which is 3 is multiplied by the constant 3, we get 9 days. The first two integers which are 32, are takes for months; and the 32 months mean 2 years and 8 months. Thus we get in all 2 years, 8 months and 9 days for the sub-period of Mercury in the Dasa of Saturn.

Get Vedic Astrology Consultation



Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.