Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Difference between precious and semi precious stone

What is the difference between precious and semiprecious stone?

Precious and semiprecious gemstones are used to make jewellery. They are either precious or semi-precious. Some of them that fall in these categories are diamonds, rubies, sapphires and emeralds. Interestingly, no large difference exists between the two, but precious gemstones are little costlier than semiprecious gemstones.

What are Gemstones?
Precious and semi-precious stones are used in jewellery and are called as gemstones. These stones are cut and refined minerals. However, gemstones are not always composed of minerals, sometimes, they are precise rocks or organic resources and are considered gemstones and are also used in jewellery and embellishments.

How are Gemstones Classified?
Gemstones are classified according to the minerals and their composition. Each gem is labelled according to its features using the practical language in the industry. The chemical arrangements of the gemstones are also studied by the gemologists. One such example is diamonds made of carbon ( C ). Furthermore, other characteristics of the stones are used to further segment them, including their dispersion, specific gravity, luster, hardness, cleavage, fracture, and refractive index.

Which Gemstones are Precious Stones?
A precious stone formed from pure carbon in a crystalline formation that is clear and usually colorless. It has Mohs’ scale of mineral hardness at 10.

It is a green-colored gemstone and composed of mineral beryl and gives green color from traces of chromium.

Ruby is a precious stone which is typically red. The shade can vary from a pale rose to a purple or even dark crimson.

Sapphire is a variety of corundum and is a precious gemstone. Traditional sapphire is blue and there are fancy sapphires that are found in shades of green, purple, yellow and orange. Sapphire is the third hardest substance next to diamond.

What are Some Common Semi-Precious Stones?
Pearls’ are hard objects created within the soft tissue of shelled mollusk. Pearls rank between 2.5 to 4.5 on the Mohs scale.

Black Onyx
It is considered as anniversary gemstone for the 10th year of marriage. Black onyx, chalcedony comes under this category.

It is a form of Silica and is like glass but very similar chemically to quartz. Variable amount of water is found under this stone. The hardness of opal ranges from 5.5 to 6.5 on the Mohs hardness.

Blue Topaz
Blue Topaz is a beautiful stone and comes in vast range of vivid blue colours. It is basically a silicate mineral and consists of aluminium and fluorine.

It is a composition of aluminium silicate and is a lustrous mineral called as moonstone. The visual effect or sheen can be observed caused by light diffraction from within the micro-structure which is composed of feldspar layers.

Buy Online Natural Certified Gemstones in Wholesale Prices



Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.